Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show: Gold Medal & Trophy winners


Today the winners in the annual Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show were announced at an award ceremony at the Mount Nelson in Cape Town. This competition is touted as one of the most respected wine competitions in South Africa, and the results show why: 

Trophy winners:  

The Fairbairn Capital Trophy for the Most Successful Producer: KWV SA

The Old Mutual Trophy for Best Red Wine: Eikendal Classique 2009

The Old Mutual Trophy for Best White Wine: KWV The Mentors Chardonnay 2011

The Old Mutual International Judges’ Trophy: De Grendel Shiraz 2010

The Old Mutual Trophy for Best Sparkling Wine (Méthode Cap Classique): Villiera Woolworths Vintage Reserve Brut 2007

The Old Mutual Trophy for Best Dessert Wine (unfortified): Delheim Edelspatz Noble Late Harvest 2011

The Old Mutual Discovery of the Show: Secret Cellar Sauvignon Blanc 2011 (Ultra Liquors)

The American Express Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon: Jordan Cabernet Sauvignon 2009

The British Airways Comair Trophy for Best Shiraz: Painted Wolf Shiraz 2009

The Grande Roche Trophy for Best White Blend: Thelema Sutherland Viognier Roussanne 2009

The Harold Eedes Trophy for Best Chenin Blanc: Tokara Chenin Blanc 2009

The Miele Trophy for Best Chardonnay: KWV The Mentors Chardonnay 2011

The Riedel Trophy for Best Bordeaux-style Red Blend: Eikendal Classique 2009

The Tony Mossop Trophy for Best Cape Port: Axe Hill Cape Vintage 2009

The Best Museum Class Chenin Blanc: Jordan Chenin Blanc 2007

The Best Merlot: La Bri Merlot 2010

The Best Pinotage: Rijk’s Private Cellar Pinotage 2008

The Best Pinot Noir: Chamonix Pinot Noir Reserve 2010

The Best Sauvignon Blanc (wooded): Nederburg Two Centuries Sauvignon Blanc 2009

The Best Sauvignon Blanc (unwooded): Kleine Zalze Family Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2010

The Best Sauvignon Blanc Semillon Blend: Vergelegen GVB 2010

The Best Museum Class Sauvignon Blanc Semillon Blend: Vergelegen 2007

The Best Semillon: Ormonde Ondine Semillon 2010

The Best Museum Class Semillon: Cape Point Vineyards Semillon 2008

The Best Museum Class White Blend: Lomond Snowbush 2008

The Best Museum Class Fortified Wine: KWV Reserve Port 1929

Gold Medal Winners:

Boschendal 1685 Shiraz 2009
Buitenverwachting Sauvignon Blanc Husseys Vlei 2011
Deetlefs Estate Pinotage 2010
Dombeya Altus 2007
Hendrik Lodewyk Méthode Cap Classique NV
Eikendal Chardonnay 2011
Fable Jackal Bird 2010
Fleur du Cap Chardonnay Unfiltered 2011
Fleur du Cap Noble Late Harvest 2010
Le Joubert 1070 2009
Manley Semillon Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Nuy Red Muscadel 1989
Nuy White Muscadel 1997
Remhoogte “Honeybunch” Reserve Chenin Blanc 2011
Rustenberg Five Soldiers 2010
Steenberg Sauvignon Blanc Reserve 2011
Stellenzicht Golden Triangle Pinotage 2010
Strandveld Adamastor 2010
Sumaridge Chardonnay 2010

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>